List of International Organizations and their Headquarters

An international organization is created to tackle issues from all over the world. The disputes between countries and issues that are affecting worldwide can be settled in these international organizations. A large number of countries are members of these types of organizations. These help in setting the international agenda. Thus, we are providing a list of International Organizations and their Headquarters so that you can memorize them which will help you in cracking the competitive examinations.

This is the list of International Organizations and their Headquarters

Name of the Organization Headquarter Formation Year
United Nations (UN) New York City 1945
United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) New York City 1969
United Nations Children’s’ Fund (UNICEF) New York City 1946
United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) Geneva 1964
International Labor Organization (ILO) Geneva 1919
World Health Organization (WHO) Geneva 1948
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) Geneva 1863
International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) Montreal, Quebec 1947
World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Geneva 1950
World Trade Organization (WTO) Geneva 1995
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Geneva 1967
International Maritime Organization (IMO) London 1959
International Organization for Standardization (ISO) Geneva 1947
United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Paris 1945
UN Women (UW) New York 2010
United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) Geneva 1950
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Paris 1961
Joint United Nations Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS) Geneva 1996
United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) Vienna 1966
United Nations Atomic Energy Commission (UNAEC) New York City 1946
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Vienna 1957
United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF) New York City 1966
Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Vienna 1960
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) Nairobi 1972
United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) Nairobi 1978
United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (UNISDR) Geneva 2000
Amnesty International (AI) London 1961
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) Vienna 1997
Universal Postal Union (UPU) Bern 1874
Commonwealth of Nations (CWN) London 1926
World Food Programme (WFP) Rome 1961
International Court of Justice (ICJ) The Hague 1945
Universal Postal Union (UPU) Berne 1874
World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) Madrid 1957
Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) Rome 1945
North Atlantic Treaty Organization International Rescue Committee (IRC) New York City 1933
International Telecommunication Union (ITU) Geneva 1947
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Vienna 1957
European Union (EU) Brussels 1958
Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) Geneva 1993
African Union (AU) Addis Ababa 2001
African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States (ACP) Brussels 1975
Andean Community (CAN) Lima 1969
League of Arab States (Arab League) Cairo 1945
Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Singapore 1989
Arab Maghreb Union (AMU) Rabat 1956
Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Jakarta 1967
Central American Parliament (PARLACEN) Guatemala City 1980
Commonwealth of Nations (British Commonwealth) London 1926
Common Market of East and Southern Africa (COMESA) Lusaka 1994
Council of Europe (CoE) Strasbourg 1949
Commonwealth of Independent States (Russian Commonwealth) (CIS) Moscow 1991
East African Community (EAC) Arusha 1967
European Free Trade Association (EFTA) Geneva 1960
Indian Ocean Commission (IOC) Port Louis, Mauritius 1982
Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) Abuja, Nigeria 1975
Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Riyadh 1981
Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Paris 1948
Organization of American States (OAS) Washington D.C. 1948
Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) Vienna 1973
Organization of Islamic Cooperation (OIC) Jeddah 1969
South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Kathmandu 1985
Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) Nouméa 1947
Union of South American Nations (USAN) Quito 2004
Southern African Development Community (SADC) Gaborone 1992
Antarctic Treaty System (ATS) Washington D.C. 1959
International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) Geneva 1863
Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) Djibouti City 1986
International Criminal Court (ICC) The Hague 1998
International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) Geneva 1919
International Criminal Police Organization (INTERPOL) Lyon 1923
International Centre for Migration Policy Development (ICMPD) Vienna 1993
International Organization for Migration (IOM) Geneva 1951
World Toilet Organization (WTO) Singapore 2001
Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) The Hague 1997
Organization of the Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) Vienna 1960

Financial Organizations

Name of the Organization Headquarter Formation Year
African Development Bank (AfDB) Abidjan, Ivory Coast(statutory) and Tunis, Tunisia (temporary) 1963
World Bank (WB) Washington D.C. 1944
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development (EBRD) London 1991
Asian Development Bank (ADB) Metro Manila 1966
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Washington, D.C. 1945
Inter-American Development Bank (IDB) Washington, D.C. 1959
International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) Rome 1977
Islamic Development Bank (IDB) Jeddah 1973
Black Sea Trade and Development Bank (BSTDB) Thessaloniki 1997
Bank for International Settlements (BIS) Basel 1930
Caribbean Development Bank (CDB) Bridgetown 1969
Black Sea Trade and Development Bank (BSTDB) Thessaloniki 1997
Nordic Investment Bank (NIB) Helsinki 1970
European Central Bank (ECB) Frankfurt 1998

Military Organizations

Name of the Organization Headquarter Formation Year
Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) Brussels 2009
Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO) Moscow 1992
Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) Beijing 1996
Peace and Security Council (PSC) Addis Ababa g

Sports Federations

Name of the Organization Headquarter Formation Year
International Federation of Association Football(Fédération Internationale de Football Association) (FIFA) Zürich 1904
World Chess Federation(Fédération Internationale des Échecs ) (FIFA) Athens 1924
Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Auckland 1916
South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) Luque 1966
Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) Nyon 1966
International Olympic Committee (IOC) Lausanne 1894
International Cricket Council (ICC) Dubai 1909
World Rugby(International Rugby Football Board) (IRFB) Dublin 1886
Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) London 1930
International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Bonn 1989
International Hockey Federation (IHF) Lausanne 1924
Badminton World Federation (BWF) Kuala Lumpur 1934
International Tennis Federation (ITF) London 1913

Leave A Comment?

19 − 17 =