Modern Indian History & Freedom Struggle

81. Which of the following percentage of Chauth tax was fixed for the rulers in the Maratha empire?

(A) 25%
(B) 38%
(C) 66%
(D) 6%

Correct Answer: (A) 25%

Answer Explanation:
The Chauth tax was divided into so many parts during the time of Peshwas. For the ruler- 25%, for the Maratha Sarders and maintenance troop chief- 66%, for Pant Sachiv- 6%, for the person of ruler’s pleasure- 3%.

82. The Gumsur uprising took place during the reign of which of the following governors-general of India?

(A) William Bentinck
(B) Lord Auckland
(C) Charles Metcalfe
(D) Lord Ellenborough

Correct Answer: (C) Charles Metcalfe

Answer Explanation:
Gumsur is a place of Ganjam district of Odisha. The first Gumsur uprising took place in 1797 and the second uprising took place in the year 1835 during the reign of Charles Metcalfe.

83. Which of the following battles took place just before the annexation of Sindh?

(A) Battle of Miani
(B) Battle of Dubbo
(C) Both of them
(D) None of the above

Correct Answer: (C) Both of them

Answer Explanation:
Battle of Miani took place on 17th February 1843 under the leadership of Charles Napier. The battle of Dubbo also known as Battle of Hyderabad took place on 24th March 1843 under the leadership of Captain James Outram. And the annexation of Sindh was declared in August 1843.

84. After the departure of Ahmad Shah Abdali, the Sikhs were divided into how many groups?

(A) 5
(B) 7
(C) 12
(D) 15

Correct Answer: (C) 12

Answer Explanation:
Ahmad Shah Abdali left India in the year 1767. After that, the Sikhs declared their supremacy over the area between Rawalpindi and the river Jamuna. They were not able to make a united kingdom but divided into twelve parts and ruled Punjab.

85. Which among the following is/ are the divisions of Ranjit Singh’s Army?

1. Fauj-i-Am
2. Fauj-i-Abas
3. Fauj-i-be-Qawaid

Choose the correct option from the codes given below :

(A) 1 only
(B) 1 & 2
(C) 1 & 3
(D) 1, 2 & 3

Correct Answer: (C) 1 & 3

Answer Explanation:
Ranjit Singh’s army was divided into two parts i.e. Fauj-i-Am (Regular army) and Fauj-i-be-Qawaid (Irregular army). The regular army was further divided into three parts. Those are Infantry, Artillery, and Cavalry.

Leave A Comment?

9 + 4 =